





Ref.: SCBD/SEL/OJ/SG/69999 21 December 2009

NOTIFICATION Access and Benefit-sharing: Friends of the Co-Chairs Meeting, 26-29 January 2010, Montreal, Canada

Dear Madam/Sir,

During the eighth meeting of the Ad Hoc Open-ended Working Group on Access and Benefitsharing, the Co-Chairs of the Working Group, Mr. Fernando Casas and Timothy Hodges, outlined the consultations to be held during the inter-sessional period before the ninth meeting of the Working Group in March 2010. The outline of inter-sessional work, consisting in essence of two informal meetings, is reported in paragraphs 116 to 132 of the report of the meeting (UNEP/CBD/WG-ABS/8/8)¹.

The first meeting proposed by the Co-Chairs is the meeting of the Friends of the Co-Chairs, which is intended to identify possible solutions on key issues in the negotiation of the International Regime. The Friends of the Co-Chairs will be composed of representatives of Parties; one representative each from the Presidency of the ninth and tenth meetings of the Conference of the Parties; and two representatives each from indigenous and local communities, civil society, industry and the research community. All participants have been selected by the Co-Chairs.

I am pleased to inform you that the meeting of the Friends of the Co-Chairs will be held in Montreal, Canada, from 26-29 January 2010. The meeting is made possible by a generous contribution from the Government of Canada.

Please find attached the list of participants who have been invited by the Co-Chairs of the Working Group to attend the meeting. The Secretariat will finance the participation of representatives from developing country Parties in the meeting. Details regarding the venue and logistics will be communicated directly to the participants.

Please accept, Madam/Sir, the assurances of my highest consideration.

Ahmed Djoghlaf Executive Secretary

To: CBD National Focal Points and ABS Focal Points





¹ Available on the Secretariat website at: http://www.cbd.int/doc/?meeting=ABSWG-08

List of selected participants for the Friends of the Co-Chairs meeting, 26-29 January 2010, Montreal, Canada

Participants	Region/Organization
Parties	
Mr. Sem Shikongo	Africa (Namibia)
Mr. Ossama El-Tayeb	Africa (Egypt)
Mr. David Hafashimana	Africa (Uganda)
Mr. Jonathan Davies	Africa (Liberia)
Ms. Sujata Arora	Asia and Pacific (India)
Ms. Tania Temata	Asia and Pacific (Cook Islands)
Mr. Gurdial Singh	Asia and Pacific (Malaysia)
Mr. Dayuan Xue	Asia and Pacific (China)
Mr. Elpidio Ven Peria	Asia and Pacific (Philippines)
Ms. Szenana Prokic	CEE (Serbia)
Mr. Gustavo Pacheco	GRULAC (Brazil)
Ms. Monica Rosell	GRULAC (Peru)
Mr. Ricardo Torres	GRULAC (Colombia)
Mr. Damaso Luna	GRULAC (Mexico)
Ms. Birthe Ivars	WEOG (Norway)
Mr. Ben Phillips	WEOG (Australia)
Mr. Desmond Mahon	WEOG (Canada)
Mr. Matthias Buck	WEOG (European Commission)
Mr. Alejandro Lago	WEOG (Spain)
Indigenous and Local Communities	
Mr. Merle Alexander	Dena Kayeh Institute
Ms. Jocelyn (Joji) Carino	Tebtebba Foundation
Industry	
Ms. Anke van den Hurk	International Seed federation
Mr. Jon Santamauro	BIO/PhRMA
Public Research	
Mr. Christoph Hauser	Natural History Museum, Germany
Ms. Maria Jose Sampaio	Brazilian Agricultural Research Corporation
COP Presidents	
Mr. Jochen Flasbarth	Representative of COP-9 Presidency
Mr. Masayoshi Mizuno	Representative of COP-10 Presidency
Civil Society	
Civil Society Mr. Hartmut Mayor	Church Davidonment Corrigo
Mr. Hartmut Meyer	Church Development Service
Ms. Yoke Ling Chee	Third World Network